Book Review: Shutter Island

Shutter IslandAfter reading this book all I can say is… Wow!

This is really an excellent book!  I love the atmosphere (the feeling of loneliness, hopelessness and paranoia in the island), the great dialogue between the characters (conversations between Teddy and Chuck, between Cawley and Teddy, between Teddy and the Warden, etc.) and the memorable characters themselves (Teddy, Chuck, Cawley and the Warden, even though appearing in only a few scenes, stood out).

I love the twist at the end which I won’t mention.  Honestly I didn’t see it coming.  And I’m happy that I didn’t since it made a much harder impact than if I did.  And the story stays with me long after I’ve finished the book.  It’s that good!

Now I’ve added added Dennis Lehane to my list of favorite authors.  My next Lehane book to read, Mystic River (which I’ve already watched before but I didn’t know then that it was a Lehane book…).

Shutter Island, the book, is surely a must-read!  I’m hoping that the movie adaptation, with Leo DiCaprio, is a must-watch as well.  BTW, I read the book after seeing the movie trailer so I’m actually visualizing Leo as Teddy, Mark Ruffalo as Chuck and Ben Kingsley as Cawley as I read.  Made it more fun…

So what are you waiting for?  Read the book before the movie comes out in Feb. 2010!

Share

Leave a Reply

