Ten Years of Gaming Goodness with the PS2

I remember arriving home from the office.  It was a tiring day and I’m ready to hit the sack early.  Until I saw a tiny slip of yellow paper wedged inconspicuously in the screen door of my apartment.  My heart skipped a beat!  I hurriedly took the paper and ran back to my car in record time.  I still had some few minutes left and I might actually make it.

My heart was still racing as I parked my car in the postal office parking lot and ran straight to the entrance.  Inside, I gave the yellow slip to the guy behind the counter and he disappeared .  After what seemed like an eternity, he reappeared carrying a box.  That was it — my most-awaited item was inside that box!

The year was 2000.  I was still working for a big trading company in the US during that year.  It was sometime before the dot com crash and after the big hoopla that amounted to nothing (Y2K Bug).  And inside that box was a machine that would forever change gaming as we know it – the Sony PlayStation2 (or just PS2 for short)!

We all knew the hype surrounding the PS2.  We have heard about, or even might have participated in, the endless queues during the launch (With some people actually sleeping on the streets just to be the first to buy a PS2!) and the scarcity that happened among retail outlets thereafter (manufactured or not – nobody knows!).  But one thing was sure.  The PS2 was destined to bring an era of gaming goodness for years to come.

And after 10 years of PS2 gaming, I would have to say that the PS2 had done exactly that and I am proud to have been part of that experience.  Even after retiring  my big PS2 to buy the slim version, the fun just went on and on…

I could not forget the countless hours that I’ve poured while playing the big franchises like Tekken, Resident Evil and Silent Hill, the excellent innovation brought about by God of War and the racing madness that is BurnOut.  Add to that the perfect arcade translations of Time Crisis and Crisis Zone and other surprise hits like Haunting Ground and Clock Tower.

As mentioned by a gaming Web site, the PS2 is not just the best-selling console but is still the most played console to date.  Given the sheer amount of quality titles and the titles still coming out for the PS2 (one of the latest, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories, just came out for the PS2), it’s no wonder then.

So congratulations are again in order for our beloved and most enduring console, the PS2!

Leave a Reply

